Unsaved , unwanted memories

Have you ever wondered on why there are certain things that remain in our memories no matter how long it has long past, or certain people we would remember the most and others are just as a glance? 

I read a quote from a female poet ( i forgot the name) : You would forget what one said or done to you, but you would never forget how one made you feel. 

Maybe because she is a poet and she is a female, we, female poet put out our feelings almost above our mind. We consult to our heart than our head, or maybe just I, who do that. 

I recently looked at my friend list in my couchsurfing (http://www.couchsurfing.com/people/teofani), the people i have hosted, which also meant spent so much time with me, hang out, met (short/long) . Each of them  drew some memories in my life; some i can mention their name without looking up the list and things we had together, some i only remember when i happened to  go thru that list again. Looking way behind those time, i can remember few faces, few names, few events….but i dont think it is the same feeling that i feel now, than it is that time. 

So, why those particular faces, those particular moments? 

Some people, in the past, begged me : Dont forget about me please! At that moment, i made my words that i wont. I do keep my words, i guess. I dont totally forget about them. If i look behind far enough i will still find them, or sometimes some images would cross in mind and i just stop at wishing that they are all alrite. 

I, personally, never quite minded, or rather wish, to be forgotten. But yet, couldn’t bear the feeling to be left behind. And tho it has been a great pleasure to get a short message saying : i thought of you, and hope you are well. 

A close friend slapped me on the face (spontaneously and lightly) when i said, ” you will forget about me sooner than you thought” when we bid good bye. I, somehow, dont want to be preserved in one’s mind; knowing i cant promise the same thing. 

But some people simply remain and living in my memory wall, i love to have some, not the other, but again, how can we choose? Even throwing the stuffs that remind us of the bad to the junk doesnt banish what had been drawn in our memories. 

But then, what i would even dwell on this thing rather than appreciate the un-particular order of our saving mechanism. 

Leave a Reply

